커피소년 (Coffee Boy)

2049618957_4bkef5ps_img_2293.jpg

Highly recommended.

I used to really, really like this band. Not so much anymore, but that doesn’t change the fact that they’re a really good band. I think I liked them up until I heard them live at my very first k-indie festival. I probably shouldn’t mention the reason here. ㅋㅋㅋ It’s not about their skills (they’re definitely talented), but more about the humor of the lead singer and the stuff he said.

Ahem. Anyway, you’ll like them if:

  • you appreciate good lyrics
  • you want to listen to a band that doesn’t sing about romance all the time
  • you want to be comforted
  • you just want to relax (his voice is SO soothing)

Just like the band name, the songs from this group are songs that you could listen to while chilling at a cafe. The lead singer’s voice is very soft, soothing, and – in a very good sense – simple. He sings like he talks. He sings like he’s lounging on a couch on a sunny day with a guitar in his hands, just humming a tune.

For example, listen to this song (it’s one of my faves): 이게 사랑일까

Do you get what I mean now? (Heh, I hope this rhetorical question makes the people who skipped clicking on that link want to click it now)

Coffee Boy’s most famous song is definitely this one. The melody is sad, but the song is actually famous because the lyrics are hopeful. It’s a song of comfort. It starts off with a female voice, asking, who will ever comfort me? And in the chorus he sings, as a reply, I’ll be on your side, I’ll tell you that everything is okay. The gem of Coffee Boy’s songs are definitely in their lyrics. Sure, the melodies are nice, and his voice is extremely soothing and comforting, but when you’re able to understand what he’s singing about, your appreciation for the song immediately heightens.

He has this really funny song that talks about whether or not he’ll be able to get married. This is one of the reasons I love k-indie. They sing about all sorts of things – even things that people don’t usually talk about that openly. This song so overtly talks about his feelings of uncertainty: he’s getting older and older, his friends are all getting married, and here he is, not sure if he’ll ever join them by starting a family of his own. I remember listening to the song for the first time when I was really young (maybe I was just starting university back then) and just liking the song for the cute melody. Then I graduated, got my Masters degree, and came to Korea, and heard this song live at my first ever k-indie festival. It was then I realized that the song was actually… relatable. Hahahaha I’m joking, I’m definitely still too young to be married. But I could see myself getting to that point.

BUT this is not my diary, so let me recommend a few more amazing Coffee Boy songs before escaping from this post:

That’s Nothing / 웃는다 / 생일 축하합니다 / 하루만 더 / 그대 내게 올 때

Ah…

I take it back. I still really, really like this band. I just haven’t listened to them in so long, I forgot just how amazing their songs and his voice were. I take it back. They’re amazing. Regardless of the lead singer’s (failed) attempts at humor. ㅋㅋㅋ

Leave a comment